Omani citizen arrested in Dubai, held secretly in Muscat without charge or explanation

0

The Omani security authorities, in cooperation with their UAE counterparts, have arrested Omani citizen Mohammed Abdullah Ahmad al-Shihi without giving any explanation or reason. Shihi, who was born in 1980, is a native of Musandam Province in the far north of Oman and previously worked for a Ghurair Group company in Dubai.

A number of Dubai security officers escorted Mohammed Shihi from his apartment at dawn on Sunday, May 6 , 2018. He was handed over to the Omani authorities later that morning. A source has told the Omani Centre for Human Rights (OCHR) that Shihi is currently being held in one of Internal Security’s secret detention centres in Muscat Governorate, and that he has not been allowed to contact his lawyer or anyone to represent him legally. Nor have the authorities in Oman so far explained the reason for his arrest. The same source speculated that Shihi’s detention may be linked to the arrest and detention of three other Omanis and a citizen of the UAE in Musandam Governorate in April in similar circumstances that have still not been announced or explained, although one of the three Omanis was released.

The OCHR insists and demands that the legal rights of detainee Mohammed al-Shihi and all other detainees must be safeguarded. He must be allowed to contact his lawyer or legal representative and the charges against him must be declared, otherwise he must be released immediately.

مواطن عماني اعتقله الأمن الإماراتي وسلّمه للأمن العماني.

0

اعتقلت السلطات الأمنية العمانية بالتعاون مع السلطات الأمنية في الإمارات، المواطن محمد عبدالله أحمد الشحي، دون إبداء أو توضيح أسباب الاعتقال. الشحي من مواليد عام 1980، خصب في محافظة مسندم (أقصى الشمال في عمان). وموظف سابق في في إحدى شركات الغرير في دبي.
وكان عدد من أفراد الجهاز الأمني في دبي قد اصطحبوا محمد الشحي من شقته في دبي فجر يوم الأحد، 6 مايو 2018، وبعدها تم تسليمه إلى السلطات العمانية صباح نفس اليوم. وحسب مصدر للمركز، فإن الشحي محتجز حاليا في أحد معتقلات الأمن الداخلي السرية في محافظة مسقط، ولم يتم السماح له بالتواصل مع محاميه أو من يمثله قانونيا. كما أنه السلطات في عمان لم توضح إلى الآن السبب الرئيسي لاعتقاله. كما رجّح نفس المصدر، إلى أن يكون احتجاز الشحي مرتبط بعدد من الاعتقالات والاحتجازات لعدد 3 من المواطنين ومواطن إماراتي في محافظة مسندم في شهر إبريل المنصرم، في ظروف مشابهة لم يتم الإعلان أو الإفصاح عنها حتى الآن، رغم إطلاق سراح أحد المواطنين الثلاثة.
هذا ويطالب المركز إلى ضرورة ضمان حقوق المحتجز محمد الشحي القانونية، وكافة المعتقلين الآخرين. والسماح له بالتواصل مع محامية أو ممثله القانوني مع ضرورة الإفصاح عن التهم الموجهة إليه، أو إطلاق سراحه الفوريّ.

شارك: