Human trafficking

0

On July 30, the international community marked World Day against Trafficking in Persons.

Human trafficking – PDF

The United Nations defines “trafficking in persons” as:
“the recruitment, transportation, transfer, harbouring or receipt of persons, by means of the threat or use of force or other forms of coercion, of abduction, of fraud, of deception, of the abuse of power or of a position of vulnerability or of the giving or receiving of payments or benefits to achieve the consent of a person having control over another person, for the purpose of exploitation. Exploitation shall include, at a minimum, the exploitation of the prostitution of others or other forms of sexual exploitation, forced labour or services, slavery or practices similar to slavery, servitude or the removal of organs.”

Oman has signed Protocols to the Convention on the Rights of the Child protecting children from involvement in armed conflict and from exploitation for the purposes of prostitution and pornography.

Royal Decree No. 126 of 2008 promulgated the Law Combating Trafficking in Persons, and a National Committee for Combating Trafficking in Persons was established. However, it is clear from cases monitored by the Omani Centre for Human Rights, as well as cases brought to light by other NGOs, that in Oman there is much exploitation of domestic workers and migrant labourers, and that Omani laws are powerless to protect these people from exploitation and trafficking.

Why?

Because the corruption of the security forces and the military, and among ministers and senior government officials, finds it in their economic interests to flood the country with migrant workers, for the most part unskilled and unqualified.
These workers, meanwhile, under the kafala (sponsorship) system, find themselves in the wretched situation of being paid less than the minimum needed to live with dignity and to avoid being trafficked, or else having their sponsors claw back portions of their monthly salaries in exchange for their residence permits. This is what Omani activists are seeing on social media.5

The latest US State Department Report on Trafficking in Persons, published in June 2018, upgrades Oman from “Tier 2, Watch List” to simply “Tier 2”. Although it notes the Omani government’s efforts to combat the problem, the report says “the Government of Oman does not fully meet the minimum standards for the elimination of trafficking”.

In your opinion, what can be done to guard against human trafficking?

All used pictures were downloaded from the Internet

الاتجار بالبشر

0

احتفل العالم في الــ 30 من يوليو بيوم الأمم المتحدة العالمي لمكافحة الاتجار بالبشر.
الاتجار بالبشر – PDF
تُعرف الأمم المتحدة الاتجار بالبشر بأنه:
تجنيد أشخاص أو نقلهم وتنقيلهم أو إيواؤهم أواستقبالهم بواسطة التهديد بالقوة أو استعمالها أو غير ذلك من أشكال القسر أو الاختطاف أو الاحتيال أو الخداع أو استغلال السلطة السلطة أواستغلال حالة استضعاف، أو بإعطاء أو تلقّي مبالغ مالية أو مزايا لنيل موافقة شخص له سيطرة على شخص آخر لغرض الاستغلال. ويشمل الاستغلال، كحدّ أدنى، استغلال دعارة الغير أو سائر أشكال الاستغلال الجنسي، أو السخرة أو الخدمة قسرا، أو الاسترقاق أو الممارسات الشبيهة بالرق، أو الاستعباد أو نزع الأعضاء.
وقعت عُمان بروتوكولين لحماية الأطفال من الاشتراك في النزاعات المسلحة واستغلالهم في البغاء وإنتاج المواد الإباحية، وأُصدر مرسوم سلطاني (رقم 126/2008) لقانون مكافحة الاتجار بالبشر، وأنشئت لجنة مختصة بذلك، إلا أن عدداً من القضايا التي تابعها المركز وأخرى نشرتها منظمات أخرى، تبين أنه يجري في عمان استغلال العمالة المنزلية والعمالة الوافدة بشكل ملحوظ، وأن القوانين العمانية عاجزة عن حمايتهم من الاستغلال والاتجار!
لماذا؟
لأن الفساد الذي تديره الأجهزة الأمنية والعسكرية ووزراء ومسؤولون ذوو مناصب في الحكومة يحافظ على مصالحه الاقتصادية بإغراق البلاد بالعمالة الوافدة غير الماهرة وغير المؤهلة في الأغلب.
ومن ناحية أخرى فإن هذه العمالة، تحت نظام “الكفالة” تواجه أوضاعاً مزرية برواتب أدنى من أدنى تكاليف المعيشة الواجب مراعاتها حفاظاً على كرامة البشر وعدم الاتجار بهم، أو يتقاضى منهم كفلاؤهم مبالغ شهرية نظير حصولهم على الإقامة. هذا ما يراه نشطاء عمانيون على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي.
في تقرير الخارجية الأمريكية الأخير الصادر في يونيو 2018 والمعني بالاتجار بالبشر، تقدم مركز عمان من المستوى الثاني تحت المراقبة، إلى المستوى الثاني فقط. ورغم أن التقرير أثنى على جهود الحكومة العمانية في مكافحة الاتجار بالبشر، ذكر أن حكومة عمان لا تلبي تماما الشروط الدنيا لمعايير القضاء على الاتجار بالبشر.
في اعتقادك، كيف يمكن الحماية من الاتجار بالبشر؟

كل الصور المستخدمة هنا تم أخذها من الإنترنت. 12

شارك: