Human Rights Violations in Oman – Annual Report 2018

0


Omani Centre for Human Rights

DON’T LET ANYONE TELL YOU THAT YOUR RIGHTS ARE NOT IMPORTANT!

Human rights violations are one of the most serious challenges faced by activists, writers and journalists all over the world, even in places that have well-developed political systems and cultures.  In the Middle East, however, rights violations have become daily occurrences, a fact that is globally recognised.  Since 2013, the Omani Centre for Human Rights (OCHR) has taken upon itself the task of investigating and publicising such violations in an Annual Report, in an attempt to document them for the record and create a reference source for researchers and others, and because of our profound belief that to document these violations is to chart the history and course of human rights in Oman, and an effective way of tracking the course of this history.

This it the OCHR’s Sixth Annual Report, this time covering the violations seen in 2018.  It should be pointed out that, at the request of some of the victims of these violations, some cases will be left out of the Annual Report.

ARRESTS

Hassan al-Basham:

The Omani activist and former diplomat Hassan al-Basham died in Samail Central Prison while serving a penal sentence there.  The true cause of his death is not known, and the Royal Oman Police did not issue any official statement.  The Muscat Court of Appeal had on November 19, 2017 reaffirmed the three-year sentence previously handed down on al-Basham in 2016 by the Court of First Instance, for offences relating to atheism and insulting the Sultan, which the Supreme Court had quashed in January 2017.

Abdullah Habib:

After 15 months of delays, on April 2, 2018 the Muscat Court of Appeal upheld the three-year jail sentence, suspended for six months, previously passed on writer and film critic Abdullah Habib for offences relating to contempt for religions and blasphemy.  Habib was later released, on June 13, 2018.

Khaled al-Rashedi:

On January 2, 2018, the Muscat Court of First Instance sentenced former journalist Khaled al-Rashedi to one year in prison on a charge of prejudicing public order and security under Article 19 of the Cyber Crime Law, a fine of 1,000 Omani riyals ($2,600), and 1,000 Omani riyals bail pending appeal.  On April 17, 2018, the Court of Appeal in Muscat upheld the sentence against Khaled, with a stay of execution.

Youssef Sultan al-Araimi (Youssef al-Youssef):

The Internal Security Service (Mukhabirat) detained Youssef al-Araimi on April 8, 2018 because of things he had posted on social media, without allowing him access to legal representation.  Youssef was subsequently released without charge on April 22.

Mohammad al-Maktoumi:

The Internal Security Service detained the Omani writer Mohammad al-Maktoumi on October 24, 2018 because of a number of tweets on his personal Twitter account in which he criticised the government’s performance.  Al-Maktoumi was subsequently released without charge on November 8.

Uday al-Omairi:

The Omani authorities detained social media activist Uday al-Omairi on November 7 for criticising and denouncing Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu’s visit to Oman.  Uday was subsequently released without charge on December 5.

Hatem al-Maliki:

The Internal Security Service detained former prisoner of conscience and social media activist Hatem al-Maliki on December 6 for things he posted on Facebook and Twitter.  Hatem was subsequently released without charge on December 10, 2018.

Unemployed people:

On January 15, 2018, a number of unemployed people gathered outside the Ministry of Manpower to demand job opportunities.  On January 22, unemployed people again gathered outside the Ministry of Manpower and its directorate in Muscat as well as in several other Omani cities, to demand jobs and urgent solutions to the problem of unemployment.  On January 29, unemployed people gathered once again in various Omani cities, and the security forces arrested the demonstrators outside the Security Directorate in Salalah (Dhofar Province).  They were however released later that day.

LAWS

The OCHR expressed regret over the passing of the new Omani Penal Code in January, and condemned its blatant violation of various rights and freedoms.

BOOKS BAN NED AND IMPOUNDED

The 23rd Muscat International Book Fair:

The latest edition of the Muscat International Book Fair saw the impounding of more than 23 books by Omani writers, mostly novels, some of which had been on sale at previous book fairs.  It is not known why the books were banned or withdrawn, and the Book Fair’s management team gave no reason or explanation.  Most Omani books that have been banned have dealt directly or indirectly with the events of the 2011 protest movement.  The list of books banned or withdrawn includes:

– Ta’wibat al-Zall (Shadow Shade) (a novel), Yasmin ala al-Ghiyab (Jasmine on Absence) (short texts), Al-Rabi’ al-Omani (The Omani Spring) (political articles), and Oman: al-Insan wal-Sulta (Oman: Man and Authority) (non-fiction) by writer and academic Saeed Sultan al-Hashimi

‘Imamat al-Askar (The Military Turban), a short story collection by Hamoud Saoud

Alladhi La Yuhibb Gamal Abdel Nasser (The One Who Doesn’t Like Gamal Abdel Nasser), a novel by Suleiman al-Maamari

Imra Tadhak fi Ghayr Awaniha (A Woman Laughing Out of Turn), a novel by Nabhan al-Hanashi

– Khitab Bayn Ghiyabat al-Qabr (A Speech Between Absences of the Grave), a novel by Mohammed al-Fazari

– Al-Khaleej fi Zaman al-Cholera (The Gulf in the Age of Cholera), articles by Zaher al-Mahrouqi

– Ma Ladhdh bil-Hulm (No Refuge in Dreaming), short stories by Nasser Saleh

Mohammed al-Fazari:

The Omani Ministry of Information has banned Omani journalist and writer Mohammed al-Fazari’s new book Al-La-Yaqin (Uncertainty) from sale or display in Omani bookshops.

MUSANDAM

The Omani authorities arrested several peaceful activists from Musandam Governorate at various times, and sentenced a number of them to life imprisonment.  Those convicted were:

– Ali Mohamed al-Mazyoud al-Shehhi (arrested in April), sentenced on October 8, 2018 to life imprisonment and fined 1,000 riyals ($2,600)

– Ali Ahmad Rajab al-Shehhi (arrested in April), sentenced on October 8, 2018 to life imprisonment and fined 1,000 riyals

– Mohamed Abdullah Ahmad al-Shehhi (arrested in May), sentenced on September 24, 2018 to life imprisonment and fined 1,000 riyals

– Mohamed bin Sulaiman bin Mazyoud al-Shehhi (arrested in May), sentenced on September 24, 2018 to life imprisonment

UNFAIR DISMISSAL

On July 31, 2018, the Omani academic Dr Mohammed al-Mahrouqi was dismissed from his job for asking Nizwa University, where he worked, to pay its employees their overdue salaries.

PUBLICATIONS AND NEWS COVERAGE

The Centre published several major reports during the year on its official website, in Arabic and English, on various topics related to human rights in Oman, such as:

– International Human Rights Day 2018: Progress on human rights, or regression?

– The New Omani Penal Code: A bonfire of human rights

– Weapons of Mass Surveillance

– International Day of Democracy

– Enforced Disappearances

– International Human Rights Treaties

HUMAN RIGHTS SOIREES

This year the Centre launched a series of evening gatherings to hear the personal experiences of human rights activists in Oman.  The special guests for the first two events were Khalfan al-Badwawi and Saeed Jaddad.

YOUR RIGHTS ARE NOT A CRIME –

THE CRIME IS STOPPING YOU ENJOYING THEM!

التقرير السنوي للانتهاكات الحقوقية في عمان في عام 2018

0



الانتهاكات الحقوقية أحد أكثر التحديات خطورة التي يواجهها الناشطون والكتّاب والصحفيون في مناطق العالم كافة، حتى في تلك التي تتبنى الأنظمة السياسية الحضارية. أما في الشرق الأوسط فقد أصبحت الانتهاكات الحقوقية حوادث يومية وحالة معروفة عالمياً. المركز العماني لحقوق الإنسان، ومنذ 2013، اتخذ على عاتقه مهمة تقصي الانتهاكات ونشرها في تقرير سنوي، في محاولة لتوثيقها للتاريخ، وإنشاء مرجعية في حال احتاج إليها الباحثون والمهتمون. وكذلك، انطلاقاً من إيماننا العميق بأنّ توثيق هذه الانتهاكات يُعتبر كتابة لتاريخ حقوق الإنسان وسيرته في عمان، وطريقة فعالة لمراقبة سير هذا التاريخ.

يقدّم المركز تقريره السنوي الرابع على التوالي، هذه المرّة لما شهده عام 2018 من انتهاكات، مع الإشارة إلى أنه ولرغبة بعض ضحايا هذه الانتهاكات، فإن التقرير لن يتطرق إلى ذكر بعض القضايا.

  • اعتقالات:

حسن البشام:

وفاة الناشط العماني والدبلوماسي السابق حسن البشام في سجن سمائل المركزي وهو يقضي فترة عقوبته في سجن سمائل المركزي، دون معرفة الأسباب الحقيقية للوفاة أو صدور تصريح رسمي من شرطة عمان السلطانية. وكانت محكمة استئناف مسقط أكدت يوم 19 نوفمبر حكم الابتدائية السابق الذي كانت العليا قد ألغته في يناير 2017، وهو السجن 3 سنوات لتهم تتعلق بالإلحاد وإعابة الذات السلطانية!

عبدالله حبيب:

بعد سنة وثلاثة أشهر من التأجيل، أيدت محكمة استئناف مسقط  يوم 2 إبريل 2018، الحكم السابق بسجن الكاتب والناقد السينمائي عبدالله حبيب 3 سنوات مع تنفيذ 6 أشهر في تهم تتعلق بازدراء الأديان والتجديف في الذات الإلهية. أُطلق سراح حبيب لاحقا يوم 13 يونيو الماضي.

خالد الراشدي:

 أصدرت محكمة مسقط الابتدائية يوم الثلاثاء،2 يناير 2018، حكما بسجن الإعلامي السابق خالد الراشدي عاماً بتهمة المساس بالأمن العام، حسب المادة 19 من جرائم تقنية المعلومات وغرامة 1000 ر.ع، و1000 ر.ع في حالة الاستئناف. يوم 17 إبريل 2018، أصدرت محكمة الاستئناف في مسقط قرارا بتأييد الحكم السابق ضد الإعلامي خالد الراشدي مع وقف تنفيذ العقوبة.

يوسف سلطان العريمي (يوسف اليوسف):

جهاز الأمن الداخلي (المخابرات) احتجز يوم 8 إبريل 2018 يوسف العريمي بسبب منشورات له في مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي، دون السماح له بالاتصال بممثله القانوني. أطلق سراح يوسف لاحقا يوم 22 إبريل دون توجيه أية تهمة إليه.

سلطان المكتومي:

احتجز جهاز الأمن الداخلي يوم 24 أكتوبر الكاتب العماني سلطان المكتومي بسبب عدد من التغريدات له على حسابه الخاص في تويتر انتقد فيها الأداء الحكومي. أطلق سراح المكتومي لاحقا يوم 8 نوفمبر، دون توجيه تهمة إليه.

عدي العميري:

احتجزت السلطات العمانية يوم 7 نوفمبر، الناشط على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي عدي العميري، بسبب انتقاده ورفضه لزيارة رئيس الوزراء الإسرائيلي بنيامين نتنياهو لعمان. أطلق سراح عدي لاحقا يوم 5 ديسمبر دون توجيه تهمة إليه.

حاتم المالكي:

احتجز جهاز الأمن الداخلي معتقل الرأي السابق والناشط على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي حاتم المالكي يوم 6 ديسمبر، بسبب منشوراته في الفيس بوك وتويتر. أطلق سراح حاتم لاحقا يوم 10 ديسمبر 2018 دون توجيه تهمة إليه.

عاطلون عن العمل:

عاطلون عن العمل تجمعوا يوم الاثنين، 15 يناير 2018، أمام وزارة القوى العاملة للمطالبة بتوفير وظائف. يوم 22 يناير، عاطلون عن العمل تجمعوا مجددا أمام وزارة القوى العاملة وإدارتها في مسقط وفي عدد من المدن العمانية للمطالبة بالتوظيف وتوفير حلول عاجلة لمشكلة البطالة. في 29 يناير، تجمع العاطلون مرة أخرى في مدن عمانية مختلفة، وقامت قوات الأمن باعتقال المتظاهرين أمام مديرية الأمن بصلالة (محافظة ظفار)، ولكن أطلق سراحهم لاحقا في نفس اليوم.

  • القوانين:

المركز أبدى أسفه على صدور قانون الجزاء العُماني الجديد في شهر يناير، وأدان ما تضمنه من انتهاك صارخ لمختلف الحقوق والحريات.

  • منع الكتب ومصادرتها:

معرض مسقط الدولي للكتاب (23):

شهد معرض مسقط الدولي للكتاب في نسخته الحالية مصادرة أكثر من 23 كتاباً لكتاب عمانيين أغلبها روايات، بعضها كان قد تم بيعه في المعارض السابقة. أسباب السحب أو المنع غير معروفة، وإدارة معرض الكتاب لم توضح أو تعلن أي سبب. معظم الكتب العمانية التي منعت تناولت بصورة مباشرة أو غير مباشرة أحداث الحراك الاحتجاجي في 2011. بعض قائمة الكتب الممنوعة والمسحوبة:

رواية “تعويبة الظل”، نصوص “ياسمين على الغياب”، “الربيع العماني” مقالات سياسية، كتاب “عمان: الإنسان والسلطة” للكاتب والباحث سعيد سلطان الهاشمي.

“عمامة العسكر” مجموعة قصصية لحمود سعود.

“الذي لا يحب جمال عبدالناصر” رواية لسليمان المعمري.

“امرأة تضحك في غير أوانها” رواية لنبهان الحنشي.

“خطاب بين غيابات القبر” رواية لمحمد الفزاري.

“الخليج في زمن الكوليرا” مقالات لزاهر المحروقي.

“ما لاذ بالحلم” قصص لناصر صالح.

محمد الفزاري:

وزارة الإعلام العمانية تمنع كتاب الصحافي والكاتب العماني محمد الفزاري الجديد “اللا يقين” من البيع أو العرض في المكتبات العمانية.

  • مسندم

اعتقلت السلطات العمانية عددا من النشطاء السلميين من محافظة مسندم في أوقات مختلفة، ثم حكمت على عدد منهم بالسجن المؤبد، قائمة المحكوم عليهم هي:

علي محمد المزيود الشحي (اعتقل في إبريل)، وحكم عليه بالسجن المؤبد وغرامة ألف ريال عماني (2600 $)، الحكم صدر يوم 8 أكتوبر 2018.

علي أحمد رجب الشحي (اعتقل في إبريل)، وحكم عليه بالسجن المؤبد وغرامة ألف ريال عماني (2600 $)، الحكم صدر يوم 8 أكتوبر 2018.

محمد عبدالله أحمد الشحي (اعتقل في مايو)، وحكم عليه بالسجن المؤبد وغرامة ألف ريال عماني (2600 $). الحكم صدر يوم 24 سبتمبر 2018.

محمد بن سليمان بن مزيود الشحي (اعتقل في مايو)، وحكم عليه بالسجن المؤبد. الحكم صدر يوم 24 سبتمبر 2018.

  • فصل من العمل:

يوم 31 يوليو فُصل الأكاديمي العماني، د. محمد المحروقي، من عمله، بسبب مطالبته جامعة نزوى التي كان يعمل فيها، بدفع رواتب موظفيها المتأخرة.

  • منشورات وتغطيات:

قام المركز بنشر عدد من التقارير المهمة عن مواضيع مختلفة مرتبطة بحقوق الإنسان في عُمان، وذلك على موقعه الرسمي باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية، مثل:

اليوم العالمي لحقوق الإنسان: الحقوق تتقدَّم أم تتراجع؟ 2018

قانون الجزاء العماني الجديد يغتال حقوق الإنسان!

أسلحة المراقبة الشاملة.

اليوم العالمي للديمقراطية.

الاختفاء القسري.

المعاهدات الدولية.

  • أمسيات حقوقية:

دشّن المركز هذا العام سلسلة أمسياته الحقوقية والتي أسماها “تجربة حقوقية”، واستضاف في الأمسيتين كلا من خلفان البدواوي وسعيد جداد.

حقوقك ليست جريمة، الجريمة منعك من ممارستها!

شارك: